who we are

Editorial Team

wendy ju

Wendy Ju
has a lifelong passion for design in all its many forms. She teaches design courses at Stanford and the CCA, and has a PhD from the Center of Design Research at Stanford. 

Charlotte Burgess-Auburn
pulls together careers in theatrical and editorial production, fine art, educational administration, and retail into the subtle and powerful discipline-spanning skills best described as "cat-herding." She applies these talents as Director of Community at the Stanford

Micah Lande
(one name -- MICAH!) likes watching television, playing golf, and playing designer for the stories told through these activities. By day he's an Assistant Professor at Arizona State University in the College of Technology and Innovation. He was formerly a PhD student at the Center for Design Research at Stanford, studying how engineers learn and are taught.

W. Lawrence Neeley
seeks to better understand this thing we call design with the intention of producing both innovative designs and adaptive designers. Currently an Assistant Professor of Design and Entrepreneurship at Olin College, he was formerly a lecturer at MIT and has a PhD from the Center for Design Research at Stanford.

Amal Dar Aziz
likes to think of herself as an atypical computer scientist, with a passion for technology, design, art, poetry, creative cooking, and travel adventures. She's also a Senior Front-end developer at Identified, based in San Francisco, and did her Masters and Bachelors in Computer Science, specializing in HCI, at Stanford.

Corina Yen
enjoys questioning things, drinking lattes, and wandering around cities. A writer and designer at Luidia and former Masters student in Mechanical Engineering at Stanford, her academic interests revolve around design documentation: its role in design process and tools and methods of facilitating it.

Lora Oehlberg
is a Mechanical Engineering Ph.D. student at UC Berkeley and works with the Berkeley Expert System Technology Lab and the Berkeley Institute of Design. Her research investigates design notebooks and how people use informal design information to support both collaboration and individual cognition. She likes making small robots, crocheted tea-cozies, and homemade ice cream.

Björn Hartmann
is a designer, academic, tinkerer, recovering musician, scatterbrain. He is an Assistant Professor of Computer Science at UC Berkeley in the EECS department. He was formerly a PhD candidate in Computer Science at Stanford, working in the Human-Computer Interaction group. His research focuses on physical computing and user interface software tools.


Copy Editors

Malte Jung Christopher Li   James Lin
Helena Ju Jonathan Edelman   Doug Kim
Mike Pihulic Scott Blankenship   Siobhan Hadley
Reid Williams Alison Wong    
Brian Van Osdol      


Past Staff

Past Editors

Elizabeth Goodman Jessica Pfund   Lilly Irani Jaireh Tecarro
Joanna Gubman Andy Radin   Phoebe Kuo Chris Turitzin
R. Scott Horner Matthew S. Reynolds   Tara Killebrew Amanda Williams
Mike Krieger Surya P. Singh   Jennifer Tackman Chuen Chou
Justin Olson Marcello Bastea-Forte      


Frequent Contributors

Angie Heile Jorge Cham
Blaine E. Brownell Dwayne Godwin
Hsiao-Yun Chu Hugh Musick
Michael Bernstein Bill Cockayne
Michael Helms



Jeff Aldrich Lindsey Darby C. Jesse Imbach Jess McMullin Jennifer Stroud Rossman  
Jeremy Alexis Roger Dennis Angel Inokon David Merrill Daniel Rubin  
Julka Almquist Alexandra Deschamps-Sonsino Arna Ionsecu Marek Michalowski Kimiko Ryokai  
Mike Ananny Steve Diller Sarah Lochlann Jain Bill Moggridge Elsie Samson  
Dave Baggeroer Krista Donaldson Brian David Johnson Jess McMullin Jaspal S. Sandhu  
Tori Bailey Scott Doorley Malte Jung David Merrill Mark Schar  
Eleni Bastéa Paul Dourish Joseph "Jofish" Kaye Marek Michalowski Jeffrey Schox  
Jonathan Bean Steven Dow Alex Kazaks Bill Moggridge Offer Shai  
Ellen Beldner Barb Dybwad Omar Khan Geoff Morris Ben Shaw  
Genevieve Bell Jonathan Edelman Sangbae Kim Meredith Ringel Morris Kelly Evelyn Shaw  
James Biber Nicole B. Ellison Alison King Maria Mortati Nathan Shedroff  
Joelle Bitton Megan Fath Scott Klemmer Paul Mullins Sheri Sheppard  
Eli Blevis John Feland Alex Ko Eric Nehrlich Neeraj Sonalkar  
danah boyd Megan Finn David J. Kordsmeier Don Norman Doug Tarlow  
Maggie Breslin Emily Winifred Ford Kara Krumpe Mike O’Neill Chad Thornton  
Johanna Brewer Ryan Freitas Mike Kuniavsky Susannah Paletz Tania Treis  
Blaine Brownell Adam French Tod E. Kurt Mani Pande Ian Tullis  
Geoff Oliver Bugbee Ryan Genz Phoebe Kuo Alan Van Pelt Bill Verplank  
Bill Burnett Liz Gerber Larry Leifer Soren Petersen Janet Vertesi  
Jacqueline del Castillo Eric Grant Sarah Lester Doantam Phan Ruby Wang  
Marshini Chettyi Saul Griffith Kevin Lim Felicity Pino Sean White  
Jan Chong Vinay Gupta James Lin Steve Portigal Terry Winograd  
Bruce Claxton Matt Hall Mike Lin Yoram Reich Susie Wise  
Larissa Co Jeff Heer Holly Liu Erica Robles Scott Witthoft  
Corie Cobb Jono Hey Ellen Lupton Christian Rohrer Rosa Wu  
Becky Currano Ben Hsieh Michael Madison Francesca Rosella Susan Wyche  
Andrew Dahley Becky Hurwitz Heidy Maldonado Louis Rosenberg Ron Yeh  
Christopher Le Dantec Tom Igoe Dan Maynes-Aminzade Daniela Rosner    


Information furnished by Ambidextrous Magazine, Inc. is believed to be accurate and reliable. However, no responsiblity is assumed by Ambidextrous Magazine for its use; nor for any infringements of patents or other rights of third parties which may result from its use. No license is granted by implication or otherwise under any patent or patent rights of Ambidextrous Magazine, Inc.